Well just when I thought the equipment additions were done for the season one more opportunity kicked the garage door in and settled its way into the workshop. The floor had to give up 4.66 square feet of space to a 17.5 ton OTC twin ram hydraulic press. The new guy should, hopefully, not create any issues unlike the huge fiasco the band saw was able to stir up. I guess the only one who could be genuinely upset with the press is the vise but, come on, I think even the vise knows that throwing some attitude would be pushing it.

 Ok so here it is, 17.5 tons worth of crushing force. Yes it is used, an opportunity came up that I didn’t want to pass on. The unit is an OTC model Y-106 that features their twin ram style 4120 hydraulic ram. The twin is basically 2 individual rams that straddles the center adjustable rod that contacts the work piece. The unit is in good working order, just needed some clean up. The ram has a maximum stroke of 2 inches and when I inspected it the ram appears to be extending fully. The only problem with the complete set-up is that the pressure gauge on the pump is broken, no big deal. I may end up replacing it at some point. The foot print is only 24” x 28” which is great for the size of my shop.

 I am pleased to welcome the new member into the family. I suspect it won’t feel overworked in its new home however I am sure it will be given opportunity to make some substantial contributions to the shop. Welcome aboard!

 Update to the post: I find it ironic that I posted this today on April 13th as it was Joseph Bramah, the inventor of the hydraulic press, who was born on April 13, 1748. Happy Birthday Joe!

 

 

Comments
  1. Erik says:

    I made a press brake for mine today and it is a wonderful addition to the press. I suggest one if you don’t have one yet.

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hey Erik, sounds great! Have any pictures posted of it? Would love to see it. I do not have a press brake built for mine however the item is added to the list. I will probably hold off on the build till I have a specific need for it. Have any words of advice towards the design? Any potential mistakes I may be able to avoid?

      Thanks! Gord

  2. Robert says:

    Hello.
    My name is Robert. I’m from Poland.
    I want to do a hydraulic press. Please see more pictures of your press, or dimensions.
    Your blog is an inspiration for me to work in my workshop.
    Thanks in advance.

    Sorry my language

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hi Robert, glad you found my blog. I did not build my hydraulic press, I am unsure if this is what you were thinking. The press is built by the US company OTC. They no longer make my press however they have one that is similiar. You can view it here. The outside dimensions of my press are 24 inches wide by 64 inches high. If you have specific questions I would do my best to answer them.

      Thanks! Gord

  3. Tara says:

    @gords – has that press lasted you a long time? What sort of jobs can it do?

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hi Tara, I acquired the press from an automotive shop that bought a new one to replace it. Presses typically last a very long time. If there are any issues with them it is usually hydraulic related and can usually be repaired. I don’t use the press much for fabrication work however it comes in handy for automotive type work when pressing bearings onto, and off of, shafts. You could always Google hydraulic press uses as there are a ton of them.

      Thanks!

      Gord

Leave a Reply

