With the bending brake in a useable state I was able to pull some partially finished projects out from the corner and attempt to achieve some completion. The snow is disappearing, the sun is shining, and the gazebo is all melted off. Time to get the gazebo leaf table finished and installed.

 The plan is to bolt the table to the joists of the gazebo floor. I hate table wobble plus I don’t want table legs to get in the way of people legs. So the design was a center post to support the table. I need something to cover up the hardware that is going to be used to bolt the table down. Time to pull out the 10 gauge sheet metal and the bending brake.

 The design is simple. Create a hexagon shaped cap that will slide down over the pedestal leg and rest on the gazebo floor thereby covering up the mounting hardware. With my dimensional needs all calculate I started by tracing out a hexagon on the sheet metal. I budgeted for a 3” overhang which will eventually provide me with the appropriate cap height.

 The procedure was fairly simple and straight forward, not a whole lot of detailed explanations required. The traced hexagon was plasma cut out. The pattern was then clamped down into the bending brake and the scribe lines were cut. Once the lines were scribed each corner got a 20 degree notch cut out of them to help me get the proper angle of all my bends. The sides of the hexagon were short enough that I could just use the bench vise to do the bending. This way I could move the piece around quickly and achieve a consistent angle between all 6 sides.

 Once I had the shape bent uniformly I MIG welded the corners and ground them smooth. All I needed to do was cut a center hole for the pedestal leg to slide through. I do not own a circle cutter and I was unable to find a circle template that was the appropriate size. I decided to cut a sliver off the bottom of the table pedestal itself in order to get a proper sized template. I was able to wrestle the table based onto the band saw, clamped it, and the shaved approximately ¼ inch off the bottom.

The circle template then was tack welded onto the hexagon cover and the plasma torch did the rest of the work. The offset of the torch to the guide is about .170” which gave me a total of .340” clearance between the cut hole and the pedestal. Worked out perfect.

 Well I am one step closer to being able to enjoy my meal in the gazebo. Not much left to do but weld a bracket on the base of the pedestal to allow for the bolting, create the floor joist adapter, throw some paint on the whole thing, and finish off the leaf design top.

Leave a Reply

