So I have wanted to add a Millermatic 252 MIG to my line up of welders for some time now however it has never been in the budget. Since it continues to not be in the budget I have at least bought myself some time with my latest addition to the garage family. I was offered a Silver Beauty 220 V MIG welder for free and so I decided to welcome it into the garage to see what it could do.

Now the Silver Beauty brand of welder’s are not considered a quality welder. The welders were made by the Italian company Telwin and distributed by Triple A Specialty Co. out of  Chicago Illinois. I am unsure what years the Silver Beauty line of welders were sold from however I am certain they are long gone however Telwin continues to build their own line up.

The top nozzle and tip was the original Silver Beauty set-up. The lower set-up is the Miller retro fit.

The model I received was the Silver Beauty 90130 which I have no manual or specifications for. All I can tell you is that it’s a 220V model which has way more jam then my Millermatic 135 110V setup.

The welder had some issues and it was not exactly useable when I received it. The power supply all seemed to work however the gun was screwed up. The gas cup was destroyed and someone had screwed on the wrong tip. A trip down to the local welding supplier confirmed what I knew would be true…no parts available. I wasn’t about to sink any money into this freebie unit but I needed to come up with a solution. I took my Miller MIG gun apart and compared it to the Silver Beauty’s gun. With a little bit of lathe work I was able to machine a brass adapter to allow me to convert all of the guns consumable components to standard Miller components, in fact the same MIG gun components I run on the Millermatic 135. It all worked beautifully. With some cleaning and adjustment of the wire feed mechanism I was able to feed wire through the gun 100%.

 Since I am short on shop space I pulled my Miller MIG of its cart and set it on top of the Silver Beauty. I then built a tee fitting to allow me to feed my BlueShield welding gas into both machines.

 After spending sometime playing with heat settings and wire speeds I was able to lay down some fairly respectable beads. Looks like the Silver Beauty is a keeper…at least until the Miller 252 enters the scene.

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    Hey Gord, enjoy your posts, Telwin has a spot on their website for manuals, give it a try they may be able to help you out.

    http://www.telwin.it/webtelwin/site.nsf/webindex?openform&E

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hi Chris, thanks for stopping in. I was on Telwins site however I can’t seem to find any manuals. They have a spare parts search unfortunately I have no useable Telwin numbers located on the Silver Beauty. The link you sent me only sends me to the general website. Am I missing the manual section? Help!!!!!! A manual would be great.

      Gord

    • Dan Raymond says:

      I am one of the sons of Eugene Raymond, past President and one of the owners of Triple-A for many years.

      My father just passed away on October 15th so I can not be sure; however as far as I knew, after my father sold the company, Shoemacher Electirc in Mt. Prospect, IL had added the line of Mig Welders from the above mentioned Italian company and should have most of the parts and a service center.

      If there are any questions I can help with, please contact me via e-mail at:
      dan@isareps.com

      • gordsgarage says:

        Hi Dan, it is nice to hear from you. Nathan, one of Eugenes grandsons, contacted me previously and informed me of the passing of your father. My condolences.
        I am familer with the Schumacher Electric Corporation as a supplier of battery chargers. I looked at their website and I found that they do, in fact, sell 1 small 70 amp stick welder. Unsure if it corresponds to anything Telwin makes. Anyway…thank you for the piece of infomation. As it sits now my Silver Beauty MIG is working great and will hopefully continue to do so.

        Thanks!
        Gord

  2. David Chiles says:

    Dibs on the Telwin when the Miller 252 enters the scene.

    • gordsgarage says:

      First come first serve…looks like it’s yours. 🙂

      Gord

      • Nathan says:

        Gord, I may be able to help you with anything Triple A related. I’m the grandson of the founder, CEO and President of the Company that existed in the 50’s-80’s. My grandfather single handedly invented many of the Triple A products, most likely including this welder. I’m a bit surprised that you classify the welder as an “inferior” product because my grandfather was known for producing the best product in the market, even if it was more expensive. He recently passed away however still has boxes upon boxes of spare parts in his garage including unopened welders as well. My father (his son), also worked for the family company and knows a great deal of information pertaining to the welders. If you need any manual, spare part or general question, let me know asap as we are cleaning out his house and throwing much of the spare things away. I feel weird coming out of the shadows but after searching my grandfathers name on the internet, realized many people are in need of assistance with Triple A products.
        http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/chicagotribune/obituary.aspx?n=eugene-b-raymond&pid=154182104

      • gordsgarage says:

        Hi Nathan, it is fantastic to hear from you. I am sorry to hear about the passing of your grandfather. After reading his obituary it sounded as though he was a man of many skills, a person who I would have admired. Not only do I own a Silver Beauty welder but I also own, for many years, a Silver Beauty growler which works fantastic. In fact I know of no other automotive based growler other then the Silver Beauty brand. My understanding, through internet research, is that Silver Beauty welders were produced by the Italian company Telwin then imported by Triple A Co. and relabelled as Silver Beauty. My comment about a lower quality welder was by no means a comment about your grandfather’s abilities rather it was more a comment regarding my past experience with other Italian welder brands. I would be curious to know if you are able to confirm that these welders were, in fact, made by Telwin. Perhaps it was wrong of me to make the “low quality” statement since I was mentally comparing the Silver Beauty welder to the welder’s that are produced today. Technology has certainly progressed, for the better, in the welding world.

        I am sure I speak for other Silver Beauty equipment owner’s when I say; do NOT throw any of your grandfather’s equipment, or parts, away! These things are valueable. Maybe not in the monetary sense but they hold a lot of weight when it comes to maintaining old equipment that continues to work. I am sure there are many people interested in NOS (new old stock) parts and it would simply be a matter of making these items available. As for my own personal needs I have none at this time in regards to the Silver Beauty items I own. The welder is working fine at this time. However I am one that loves manuals for anything I own. I would absolutely love a manual for the Silver Beauty welder I have however this type of documentation is sometimes difficult to come by.

        Thank you Nathan for contacting me. I wish you all the best as you continue to unpack your grandfather’s past as I can assure you there is much more of him out in the world then there has been left behind in his house.

        Gord

  3. Jake says:

    Gents,

    I was given a Silver Beauty 90100 (110 MIG with gas hook up). I was told that it blows fuses fairly often. This is the first welder I ever had so I am not familiar with problems they might have. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    Jake

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hi Jake, welcome to the Sivler Beauty club. Have you actually verified that there is a problem? There are multiple reasons why a welder will blow fuses but the most common one, IMO, is by using the welder beyond its duty cycle rating. In other words if the welder is used at too high a load for too long breakers can pop. If this is not the case I am not sure I will be of much help to you without more information including machine wiring schematics. You may have better luck getting to know some of the forum members on WeldingWeb and post the question there. Good luck.

      Thanks!
      Gord

      • JON says:

        Hi Gord

        Seems there are a bunch of us in the same boat, except my Silver Beauty is missing its power switch and I am having the darndest time finding one .. Closest I got was through Ohmite that makes Tap Switches, but while mine is 1.5″ diameter, they want to replace it with a 6″ diameter of theirs and looking inside, I really don’t think its going to work… Willing to sell it as a PARTS WELDER as everything else is good.

        Jon

      • gordsgarage says:

        Hi Jon, I suspect there are many people out there with Silver Beauty parts issues. If you really wanted to make the 6″ tap switch work you may want to consider remote mounting it. Might not be the prettiest but it would be functional. Other options may include getting a switch from a different welder as I am sure most of the older manual switches would work with minor modifications. Good luck

        Gord

  4. Joel says:

    I need a manual for my silver beauty 90100 my best friend gave it to me It needs some parts the Gun tip is messed up and the wire keeps jamming up
    any help would be great thanks
    bakerboys76@gmail.com

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hi Joel, congrats on your recent acquisition. I do not have, nor do I have access to, a manual for your welder. You may want to get involved in some of the welding forums and perhaps someone may be able to help you out. As far as your wire feed issue goes…is it an electrical issue or a mechanical issue? Does it jam while welding or will it jam if you simply pull the trigger to feed the wire? Possible issues that can cause mechanical jamming of the wire include the tension of the wire spool, the condition of the wire spool mainly how the wire is wound, the condition and tension of the feed rollers, the condition of the feed cable to the gun, any kinks or crushed sections of the cable will result in an inconsistent feed rate, and the condition of the gun tip. Typically the mechanical issues are not difficult to work through if you approach them systematically. Gun parts, in my experience, are difficult to find for the Silver Beautys. I machined an adapter bushing so I could convert my Silver Beauty gun to use standard Miller consumables. I highly recommend performing this mod. If you have more info to provide then more help may be available.

      Thanks!
      Gord

      • linwood says:

        i have a pdf manual for silver beauty 90100
        would luv to trade for pic or info on heat switch
        thanks
        linwood

    • linwood says:

      i needhelp with my heat switch
      which poles show continiuty in which positions
      anybody???
      please and thanx
      linwood

      • sidsone says:

        Hi linwood, i just got a silver beauty 90100 and need a manual. can you email me a copy, i would greatly apreciate it and dont mind compinsating you for your time. thanks

      • linwood says:

        i cant seem to post the pdf
        but if i had an email i could send it to you
        lknotary@gmail.com

      • gordsgarage says:

        Hey linwood, it’s too bad that you are still trying to get the welder going. I would be more then happy to help where I can however I am unsure what I can do. At this point I do not have the time to tear my switch apart to try and figure things out. If you want me to host/post the PDF manual I can do it on the blog. Someone else, including myself, may be able to help you out if we had more information to go on. If you send me the PDF and I post it you need to understand that it will then be available to anyone who visits my blog. The choice is yours.

        Thanks!
        Gord

      • JON says:

        Hey Gord….how can I send you pictures of the switch to post.?

      • gordsgarage says:

        Hey Jon, at this point in time the only way to post a picture is by by including a link to where it is being hosted. Many people use Photobucket and upload their pictures to that site. Once the picture is uploaded then you can simply post the link, in my comments section, which will direct people to the picture.

        If linwood wants to send me a copy of the PDF manual I would be willing to host the manual and also publish a short blog posting to see if we can get peoples problems sorted out. If this is the case I would be more then happy to host your picture(s) of the switch and include them in the same blog posting. This way the picture would actually be posted instead of just being linked.

        Hope this helps

        Gord

  5. JON says:

    I have Pics of the power switch and will trade for your pdf schematic… How do we do this?

    JON

  6. JON says:

    Linwood Please contact me

    Jon Westberg 530-776-7407 RE Pictures heat switch …. and thanks Gord for the discussion room.

  7. JON says:

    I remember you Linwood… still have my Silver Beauty laying around with the switch in pieces. Have you ever figured out how to rebuild the switches.. You showed so much potential!

    Jon

    • linwood says:

      i figured out how to get the high and two other positions working with clip leads
      my switch and yours are not exactly the same
      im thinking yours is the right one and mine is one somebody tried to get working
      so im not sure where that leaves anyone
      having any luck elsewhere???
      linwood

  8. Alan Muller says:

    I just came into one of these Silver Beauty 90100 welders. I’d much appreciate a copy of the manual.

    • linwood says:

      hi
      i have one
      any chance for testing the switch for which poles show continuity in which positions with the wires disconnected
      linwood
      lknotary@gmail.com
      thanks

      • jwestberg says:

        Hi Gord

        I have put pics of the switch that I sent to linwood on my flickr site. Go to jonnofromoz and they should pop.

        Jon

        On Wed, Sep 19, 2012 at 11:03 AM, GordsGarage Blog wrote: > > linwood commented: “hi i have one any chance for testing the switch for > which poles show continuity in which positions with the wires disconnected > linwood lknotary@gmail.com thanks” >

      • gordsgarage says:

        Found them Jon, to make it quick for others to see them just click here.

        At what stage are you at with your switch? The one Flicker photo shows it partially assembled.

        Gord

      • JON says:

        Hi again

        I am not mechanical and shy away from it as it gets me in trouble. I was hoping Linwood would save the day. But its a silver beauty desk weight now as I had to buy another that actually worked. Saving it to sell to someone who needs parts

      • gordsgarage says:

        The state of your welder sounds disappointing. Is all that it needs is the switch repaired or are there other issues? What did you get for another welder? Are you happy with it?

        Gord

      • gordsgarage says:

        Hey linwood, does your PDF manual not have a wiring diagram in it?

        Gord

  9. linwood says:

    hi gord
    yes it does
    but in trying to figure out a replacement it doesnt get you there without knowing circuitry within the switch
    which poles are connected in which positions

    • JON says:

      So Gord, I found some more Pics which I will put up. Not sure where I got them, but one is possibly from Linwood a while back..not claiming them as mine, just putting them out there…

      Jon

  10. John says:

    I was wondering if anyone knows where I can buy a circuit board for a 90100 110v welder or one that is available for parts.

  11. Joe Kumanchik says:

    Hi All, I’m a new owner of an old Silver Beauty 90100 and I too, am also dealing with a bad power selector switch. I am working on a source for replacement switches but I am in need of a wiring diagram, possibly located in the back of the user manual, to make sure I get it right. The switch that comes with the welder is a configurable cam switch. If you are daring enough to take it a part, be very sure to document every part and its position. What I have found in most cases is contacts on the lower switch deck is melted into the contact support and is, of course, not fixable without a spare switch to scavenge parts from. The switch pin out is simple but what connects to what is what in each position is what I am working on now. Any input or help would be greatly appreciated. When complete, I will make what I learn availible to all Silver Beauty users.

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hi Joe, sounds like you are not alone with your switch issues. I am not much help to you however I can put your comment out there hoping someone else will speak up. Providing any information that you learn would be greatly appreciated by other Silver Beauty owners.

      Thanks
      Gord

    • Mark Urban says:

      Joe,
      Were you ever able to locate a power switch? I sounds like you have the pin out of the switch, would you be willing to share that? My e-mail is zandor@spe.midco.net

  12. forhire says:

    I am in need of the manual with a schematic for a Silver Beauty 90100. Anyone have one they can share? Thanks, Randy

Leave a Reply

