Suck, Squeeze, Bang, GO!

Posted: October 29, 2012 in CB160, Garage projects
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It has been a very busy few weeks away from the garage lately but I continue to try and keep making progress with the 65 Revive project. I showed off the completed engine in my last post and therefore it was time to move on to getting the engine mounted in the test stand.  There have actually been a lot of things happening behind the scenes lately and there have been some issues that I have had to work my way through. Typically with all my blog posts I try and maintain order and post things in the order which they occur. Well this time is going to be the exception.  I have lots of exciting things to share that I have incorporated into the engine however for now the news will have to wait. For today the blog post is going to consist of only a video. The engine did reach completion and the installation onto my “power tower” was somewhat successful. I spent time getting everything wired up and configured to the point where there was nothing left to do but induce some compression in hopes that the intake and power strokes will take care of themselves. So here you have it, the video of the inaugural starting of my freshly rebuild engine. The carbs were set to a base point, the ignition statically timed therefore there was nothing left to do but send some amperage to the starter and convert the crank RPM to run RPM. I am pleased to say that once the cylinders were fed some hydrocarbons from the float bowls the engine fired up and ran great, considering the state of adjustments. I am even more pleased to announce that after sitting for a few days with oil in the crankcase everything appears to be dry. So here you have it, the video of the first test run of the CB160 engine. It’s pretty cool to think that his engine was built from 3 engines and that it probably hasn’t seen CO running through its pipes for decades. Only goes to show that mechanicals do not age.  BTW if you don’t have speakers don’t bother watching the video, the thump is the 2nd best part. What’s the first? What else, the smell!

Comments
  1. meetlucille says:

    Looking good Gord. Lucille jumps on her stand when I roll the throttle, but alas, she sits in many pieces on the bench.
    Pistons (standard) look to be in good shape other than some glaze and carbon buildup. They are within tolerances (.127 – .1mm to .2mm) according to the manual. Plan on taking the head to Tripp’s in Oakville for a honing and valve cutting, again, trying to keep things standard once I remove the springs and check the guides, hopefully she will go back together easily.

    Lastly, debating whether to do the bottom as well. Looks very clean as is, but splitting the case seems a bit daunting. Pointers?

    Looking forward to seeing more.

    Best,
    Andrew

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hey Andrew, good to hear you have torn into things. Nice that you are still dealing with standard size pistons. I suspect your guides will be ok, mine were fine and after talking with the machinist it sounds like they aren’t prone to wear. My intake valves were pounded out pretty bad, I had to get my hands on a couple of new ones.

      After rebuilding my bottom end I wouldn’t hesitate to tear into it again, they are farily basic. There are actually not a lot of replaceable parts inside the cases. To replace all the crank bearings the crank needs to be pressed apart. Replacing the trans. bearings are easy except the bearings are hard to find. It’s nice, though, to be able to inspect everything. Even if you don’t replace anything a good solid and inspection and cleaning never hurts. I have a copy of the factory parts manual and I actually use it more then I use the Clymer and OEM repair manuals. The parts blow up always gives you an idea how everything goes together.

      Let me know if you need any help, it’s still all fresh in my head.

      Thanks!
      Gord

  2. The Stu says:

    Looks and sounds great, Gord!!

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hey Stu!!! Thanks for stopping in. The engine turned out well, the color scheme seemed to work out. Need to spend some time tuning however I am getting closer to reaching the end.

      Thanks!

      Gord

      • The Stu says:

        I love the color scheme, I can’t wait to see more of the project!! And if you need some polishing help… 😉

      • gordsgarage says:

        Thanks Stu, the colors worked out to my liking. Perhaps I’ll have to take you up on the polishing help in order to rid my paint job of the orange peel I am sure to spray into it.

        Thanks!
        Gord

  3. Alutig says:

    Looks and sounds nice as always Gord.
    Real inspiring.
    I have an 1958 Husqvarna Roulette standing in a corner of the garage (50ccm)
    It,s the bike i learned to ride on when i was a kid and i think its about time i dig it out..
    Anyways, real nice project. Keep em coming!

    Gaute

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hey Gaute, I had to Google search your 1958 Husqvarna Roulette, that thing looks AWESOME!!! That would be a fun restoration project. I love working on things that aren’t overwhelming and your Husky looks like a perfect candidate. What are you waiting for? Make it happen!

      As always, thanks for the comments.

      Gord

  4. meetlucille says:

    Hi Gord. Prior to sucking and squeezing and going, did you do any preliminary compression checks to make sure the numbers were at an acceptable level? Prior to full installation, I’d like to get a baseline for compression (I’m showing 90 each side without ex headers and crabs) in case I need to open her up and tweak anything. Valve clearances are at .002 in and ex.

    Best,
    Andrew

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hey Andrew, I never check compression on a new engine. IMHO it is not relevant, the rings aren’t seated and there should be nothing wrong with the compression if the rebuild was done correctly. If valve clearance is too tight, tight enough to cause a compression issue, you will suffer from bigger issues like running problems and, eventually, burnt valves. The best thing you can do is ensure you did a quality job.

      The only thing I ever do on a fresh rebuild is ensure I have oil flowing to the head before I light it up. I pull the spark plugs and crank the engine over with the valve adjust covers removed and watch till I have oil flowing. In my case I could crank the engine over with the starter, in your case, since you are starterless, you’ll have to give the kick starter a good workout. Like I said, pulling the plugs will make life easier.

      Thanks!
      Gord

Leave a Reply

