Mock Talk

Posted: November 6, 2012 in CB160, Garage projects
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So I would like to take this moment to apologize for the content that has been consuming the blog lately. I usually try to mix things up to keep things interesting however I seem to have become obsessed with this bike project. My only guilt is with the blog as I am actually very much enjoying my own project that I can sink myself into. I feel as though the blog is overdue for some welding, or machining, content however at this point I have nothing. One of my excuses is that the shop has been scattered with engine parts for the last few months and there has been no place to do anything else. I worked hard to keep the grinding down to a minimum since I had open engine cases lying around.

This is a shot of all the parts I had left over from trying to build 1 good engine. Each one of these parts have something wrong with them that make them unusable.

Well I am unpleased to announce that I have little to report on this week. The bike still consumes my time however I am starting to move onto the second phase of the project. Although I am still waiting for a few engine parts to show up the engine rebuild has been deemed a success therefore it is time to move onto the actual bike.

I will not bore you with details at this point in time as there are many factors that come into play as I start to develop a game plan to move forward. For the present it was time to get the shop cleaned up and all the engine parts packed away. I had spent time cleaning all my old parts and then bagging them. I kept everything that I did not use and archived it all in a plastic bin. Although some of the parts are old and broken it is still important to hang onto the components for reference. Especially if I need to build something, or purchase components aftermarket, I will always have some of the factory parts to be able to go back to.

Empty engine made from old, useless, parts.

Since I didn’t want to install my good engine back in the bike for mock up purposes I took some of my old engine parts and bolted them together to create an empty mock up engine case.  I then installed the engine into the bike. I need to make some crucial decisions in regards to seating, and riding, positions for the bike as I plan on modifying the current arrangement. I will also start to begin a new process of ordering parts that will contribute to the cafe mods.  There is a lot of work ahead of me and things always take longer than expected.

So for today I have left you with another blog positing about my 65 revive project. I will try and mix things up in the future, If there is something you want to see just let me know. For now I trek on.

Comments
  1. Larry says:

    I’m loving the CB160 project. Keep up with that.

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks Larry, you`ll probably see more next week, I`ve got someting kinda cool in the works.

      Gord

      • Larry says:

        Gord, I’m doing my own CB160 project now. Can I ask you what oil you decided to use in yours?

      • gordsgarage says:

        Hi Larry, I deliberated over what oil to run and in the end decided to stick with Honda’s GN4 10w30 motor oil. I talked to a veteran Honda motorcycle tech and that’s what he had recommended. I bought it at my local Honda service center, click here to see a web link of the oil.

        Thanks!
        Gord

  2. Justin says:

    I agree with Larry!!!!
    Love your work no matter what it is!!!

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks for the support Justin, I`ll keep plugging away on the bike. Things will get changed up a bit since the bike will need to get stripped down to the frame soon.

      Gord

  3. meetlucille says:

    Hey Gord. If you would like to mix up the projects a bit, I have a project for you; a block-off for the electric starter. Unlike your rebuild, I will be going without the electric starter so a block-off plug could be a good little project to capture on film, and get paid for. Also, the shift drums and forks are all that stand between me and a completely, completely, clean upper crankcase. Clymer, Honda and the parts catalog have all failed me on how to remove them. Not getting it. Pointer?

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hey Andrew, I like you block off plate suggstion. I have my mock up case handy so building someting to fit shouldn`t be too bad. I had mentally designed one earlier for my engine. I really wanted to get rid of my starter but since the rear sets are going to interfere with the kick starter I decided to get rid of the kick starter instead. I had come up with a work around however all my ideas were impractical. In the end I felt as though I had no choice but to go with the starter.

      My block off plate was going to get mounted from inside the side case and be machined in such a way that the visible part of the block off plate would sit clean and flush with the outside of the block. I measureed up the hole tonight and it looks like I need a small chunk of 2.750` 6061 aluminum. The biggest I have in the shop is 2.500` but I can stop in at the metal shop and pick up a small section. You want me to see what I can do? Do you have a particular finish in mind? Polished? Powder coated? Brushed?

      As far as the shift drum goes the removal is fairly simple. First the bolts on each shift fork (the ones that slide in the gates of the drum) need to be removed. Then you need to remove the bolt that sits on the outside of the upper case directly above the shift drum. The bolt is the one that is directly behind the oil dipstick. You need to make sure that you remove the sleeve that sits in the bottom of the bolt hole. The sleeve is there to prevent friction when the drum turns. Don’t lose the little sleeve. So after the bolt and sleeve are removed the drum should slide out of the case. As the drum is pulled out the shift forks slide off.

      Hope this helps. Let me know about the plate.

      Thanks!
      Gord

  4. meetlucille says:

    Shift drum – embarrassed to say that I figured it out about 5 minutes after posting. I believe my exact comment to myself was, “Oh, that’s what the bolt is for.”
    As for the plate, I am not polishing the case because I like the patina. She looks like a runner “in the buck”. Let’s figure how to connect through email since I think you’re near the Burlington area. Your solution would have the groove for the 61×2 O-ring as well? I can reuse it from the main housing, or not, it feels a bit flat. Maybe a fiber gasket on the inside.

    Lastly, you know how there are 4 small dowels that anchor the crankshaft (90701-222-000 Pin, Knock) well, when I opened her up, I only found three (3) can you please check the Rubbermaid box for a spare? One man’s junk…

    Best,
    Andrew

Leave a Reply

