Title belt sander

I feel like I need to state the obvious, this kick stand project is dragging on. I can make excuses but what’s the point? The only person that is affected by the lack of progress is myself. I have collected many parts that are tempting me to switch gears to a different fabricating aspect on the bike my head is telling me to get through the kickstand and reach completion before moving on.

Milled for mounting

Mounts TIG welded

Although the main support shaft looks to be built from 1 solid piece it is actually a hollow section with the two ends welded on. My main concern was to keep the weight low.

I had previously worked at getting all the angles figured out. I do not possess the skills to be able to create a 3D working model in a CAD program and so I needed to rely on old school methods and just had to puzzle it out. The project was at the point where the previously built components required welding and the addition of known components had to be built and the stand cleaned up.

Pivot stop

Pivot parts joined

So I started to tack components together so that I could do some preliminary test fitting. The kick stand itself went together nicely however the mechanical aspect of the over centering spring had yet to be determined. I had plenty of hours into trying to make things work. The pictures I have included in this blogs posting do not tell the whole story. There was plenty of trial and even more error.

Stand stop

Stand cleaned up

This extra tab is the stop for when the kick stand is in the lowered position.

I had initially planned on building the over centering aspect based on the millions of other kick stand designs. What was the point in trying to reinvent the wheel? Well it turns out that I positioned the pivot point of the spring in the wrong location. The kick stand would snap down into the lower position but it would not stay in the retracted position. I know why it didn’t work however trying to change it so it would function was not easy.

Stand test fit

2 inch foot plate

Building the kick stand “foot” using 2″ solid round bar.

I was very cramped for space. I am trying to build the kick stand as cleanly, inconspicuous, and self contained as possible. I struggled with finding a solution to position my pivot points correctly. It was time for a total re-think. A new approach was needed and thinking outside of the box had to come into play. In order to make room for the over center pivot point I was going to have to abandon the conventional methods. Typically an expansion spring is used which requires the over center pivot to be placed above the kick stand pivot. In my case I decided to explore the idea of using a compression spring and therefore I would be able to place the over centering pivot below the kick stand pivot where I would have more room.

Stand alone set up

Bike lean

I am unsure what is standard as far as bike lean goes. My stand allowed for just under 5 degrees. It looks right and hopefully it will be enough so that a wind gust won’t knock the Honda over.

So as I played with this idea the plan finally came into clear view. It was about time! I was able to track down a short version of the typical hydraulic struts used on automotive hoods as the hood props. I found a short version that is used on Porsche Cayenne SUVs that return the park brake pedal to rest position. The length was perfect and the tension felt adequate.

Machined ball

Hydraulic and balls

So off to the lathe I went to machine up the pivot balls required for the mini strut to snap onto. After lots of fitting and mocking up I was able to determine where my pivot points had to be and proceeded to build the brackets. Knowing I may have to scrap the whole idea if it doesn’t work I tack welded everything together and proceeded to perform a full function test. Awesome! The pivot point turned out to be perfect. The kick stand both lowers and rises into its rest position on both ends of the scale. It is secure and safe.

Drilling the stand

So finally I have reached a point of satisfaction. Not only is the kick stand fully functional but I think it also looks fantastic. The strut is hidden in behind the rest of the stand and the complete assembly tucks up out of the way. Nothing is obtrusive or ugly and having the strut on the stand gives it a super cool “trick” look to it all.

Ball fitted

So for now I am going to check this on off my list. The stand still requires powder coating however I am holding off until the exhaust is complete. There is a chance I may need to weld a support for the exhaust to the stand. The difficult part is complete I can finally move forward with more exciting aspects of the project.

Completed kick stand 2

The completed kick stand in the retracted position. Nice and clean.

Completed kick stand 1

Comments
  1. The Stu says:

    I know NOTHING about motorcycles, but that strut makes the stand look totally badass compared to the springs I normally see (the odd time I pay attention to a motorcycle kickstand).

    Very cool.

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hey Stu, the strut worked out great. I feared that it may not suit the “cafe” style however I don’t care. The coolness, and clean look, factor out way the vintage.

      Thanks!
      Gord

  2. Luis Rodrigues says:

    I’ve been looking at all the work you have done, specially to your bike, since I’m in the process of building a café racer out of an old Honda CD175 “Sloper”. I just want to thank you for posting all the work online for us all to be inspired on.
    One question: why didn’t you build the footpegs yourself? Those would be perfect candidates for the DIY lot of parts.
    Anyway, keep up the excellent work.
    Luis

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hi Luis, thanks for following the bike build. It’s nice getting feedback. You ask a good question in regards to the foot pegs. The answer is not short or simple. Here is my shortened explanation;

      You are correct; the foot pegs would have made a great DIY project. In the years that I have been doing projects I have attempted to accurately determine the length of time a project will take to complete. Rookies always grossly underestimate the time commitment involved in completing, what seems to be, fairly simple tasks. I have learned to over budget as I gain more experience however I have also learned that every project always takes longer than expected. In the case of the CB160 build there are many tasks that need to be accomplished. Many of these tasks involve my own personal time, which I enjoy, however I still need to budget for all the little jobs. In the case of the foot pegs I opted to purchase, rather than build, mostly because it would buy me time for the rest of the project. I did not make the decision lightly and it hurt a bit when I put the order in however in hindsight I think it was the right move. The bike build is not the only thing going on in my garage. I always have side projects going, usually for others, that never get any exposure on the blog. Between work, family, other projects, and the bike I need to continually “find” time to fit everything in.

      I am not sure if it sounds like I am making excuses however I think the long winded reply speaks for itself. Obviously I still have some regrets not building the pegs myself.

      Have any pictures posted of your 175?

      Thanks!
      Gord

  3. jeremy says:

    gord,

    thank you for this blog. I really enjoy your work. i also own a cb160 , your work is amazing.
    again thank you.

    Jeremy

    p.s send me a kickstand please.

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hi Jeremy, thanks for the kind words, it’a nice to hear from people who have the same interests. I’ve had the oppurtunity to meet mutliple people who also have a CB160, we have our own little club going on here. I’ll work on that kicksatnd for you.🙂

      Thanks!
      Gord

Leave a Reply

