Title front end

So I was able to continue my auspuff progress on the CB160. The preliminary leg work had been accomplished and it was time to start cuttin’ and buttin’ stainless pipe together to make a structure that will hopefully represent a 2 into 1 exhaust system.

The plan was to make the “lines” of the exhaust flow with the bike and give it as much of a clean look as possible. I continued to work with the bike turned upside down as I had previously done when modifying the center stand. I am not sure how much I can say about the whole process other then it takes a lot of “looking” and “figuring” to make sure everything is just right.

I have included bonus pictures in this particular post which shows a major screw up on my part. I was able to dissect my mistake and fix it however the thoughts associated with my lack of planning still continue to haunt me. Anyway…look on and follow along as I eventually ended up with a completed exhaust system for the 65 Revive project.

Tacking down tubes

Laying out and tacking up both header pipes to ensure that they are both identical.

Collecter tacking

Tacking the collector to the 1.500″ outlet pipe which will help me line things up on the bike.

Collecter to headers 1

Starting to piece the header pipes to the collector assembly.

Tacked pipe take 1

Here is the “2” into 1 section all tacked up. I placed the collector in a particular spot in order to allow access to both oil drain plugs.

Ashamed and embarrassed

And here is my screw up. I cannot believe that I did this. For some reason I neglected to presicely place my collector assembly. I have no idea why I just “guessed” at its position. As you can see the exhasut angle under the bike look hideous.

Starting over

So here is attempt number 2. Good thing I only tacked the pipes together. This time I measured and clamped the collector assmebly in its proper position.

Collecter to headers 2

With the header pipes measured out and bolted in symmetrically and with the collector placed properly I began cutting pipe and fitting pipe in order to join the 2 sections together.

Tacked pipe take 2

It’s already looking better. Hopefully round 2 will prove to be successful.

Yeah Baby!

Way better, completely happy with the “angle on the dangle” on this one. The flow looks great. I like how the lines of the underside exhaust matches the angle of the seat frame.

Pipe final welding 1

With the exhaust tacked and tested it was time to perform the final TIG welds.

Pipe final welding 2

I back purged all my welds and they all worked out fine.

Muffler angle mock up

It was time to keep going with the elbow and angle required for mounting of the muffler. Here I used various supports to help hold the muffler in place so that I could stand back and get a good visual.

Completed 2 into 1

With the muffler angle figured out I cut and welded the remaining pipe. With the exception of a support bracket this is the final product.

Pipe install 2

Here is a shot of the completed and installed exhaust. I think the lines and shape worked out great. Don’t mind the orange elastic bands as they are only there to keep the exhaust flanges from sliding down the pipe while I was welding and installing.

Pipe install 1

And here is the final look. I still have yet to weld, or clamp, the mufller (I haven’t decided yet). I also need to install a bracket however this too has to wait for variuos reasons. My intent from the start was not to grind and brush the welds. I wanted to go for a raw and racey look so I think I am going to leave the welds exposed. I’ll let it sit for awhile and see how I feel.

Comments
  1. The Stu says:

    Wow. The pic where you can really see the matching angles is crazy, that is going to be one slick motorcycle when she’s all finished, sir. Very nice work!!!!

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks Stu, I am happy with all the angles. As I am sure you are well aware sometimes you need to sit and stare at something for awhile in order to figure out the subtle details. I had to place the bike on the other side of the shop so that I could stand back 15 feet and get some “vision”, I think the exhaust suits the bike.

      Thanks!
      Gord

  2. valmondc@gmail.com says:

    Nice work! I can see the mistake of the pipe angle happening from the bike being upside down. Simple things like that can happen once an object is viewed from an angle far different than its intended natural position. Working in 3D can be hard sometimes if your constantly moving things around. As for welding on the exhaust or clamping it, i’m for clamping. If you want, or need to work on the muffler for some reason, much easier to be able to remove it. Just my opinion…
    PS: Do you talk about your lathe anywhere on your site? And any mods or tools you’ve done to it?

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks valmondc, the mistake I made was a stupid one. I agree that things look completely different with the bike turned upside down however I shouldn’t have been so careless. Should have measured and clamped right from the get go. I got sidetracked on making my cuts and forgot to focus on the basics. I agree with you about clamping the muffler, I think it is the smart thing to do however I also do not want to disrupt the clean lines. I’ll think about it for awhile yet.

      I don’t think I have done any posting on my lathe. I have done some mods and repairs. I had to re-bearing the input shaft in the gear box and I replaced some of the stripped out fasteners with stainless steel. Also tossed a spring under the tailstock clamp to make loosening a lot quicker. I built a tapping attachment which works great. With some care and maintenance the machine continues to perform.

      Thanks!
      Gord

      • Val says:

        I can see where the pipe, being a single piece, is pleasing to the eye. My current girlfriend once told me that motorcycles weren’t very practical.(After mentioning i wanted to start riding again).
        I replied that neither is life. So go with the flow i guess, as it’s what feels right that counts in the end.
        You could easily do a review/overview of your lathe and other equipment. I’m sure those of us that follow your work would be interested to know what works for you.

        Val

      • gordsgarage says:

        Thanks Val, the best things in life are never practical, that’s why we do them. I’ll let the exhaust sit for a bot and see what migrates to my mind.
        I’ll add the lathe to my list of blog postings, if I run short on content I’ll try and put something together.

        Thanks!
        Gord

  3. Ron Kluwe says:

    Gord;

    Nice work.

    My vote would be to grind and polish all the welds and polish the header tubing. Reason for this is that you have that superb polished tank along with a nicely polished muffler. Leaving the pipe in a raw state seems like it is inconsistent with the balance of the other major items on the bike. I think the harmony and flow of the design would be enhanced by looking at a fully polished exhaust system.

    Just my 2 cents worth.

    Ron

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks Ron, I can see your point on grinding the welds. I appreciate hearing other peoples opinions. I think brushing the welds may be the right decision, I’ll sit on it for awhile and see what comes in time.

      Thanks!

      Gord

  4. jason says:

    did you make all the pieces , or did you get them as a kit

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hi Jason, the exhaust was not built from a kit. I spent quite a bit of time figuring out the design. I then bought all the stainless steel mandrel bent angles and started to cut and weld. With some care and patience the exhaust worked out well.

      Thanks!
      Gord

Leave a Reply

