153 Title bike

The momentum has not slowed and the finish is in sight. Reassembly of the CB160 continues to go strong and steady. It has taken me many years to learn how much time I need to budget for project completion. In the case of the 65Revive project I had already planned out a reassembly timeline back in September. I am please to say that I am on track and may even be slightly ahead of schedule. I am looking forward to the riding season and want to ensure that the bike is 100% complete before the spring melt off.

I last left off with a rolling chassis and an engine bolted in. Since that time I have been able to reach approximately 98% completion. I have already started fearing potential empty nest syndrome. Like previously posts I’ll take you through the process with pictures.

153 Hardware never ends

The powder coating seems to never end. I am hoping this is the last bit of hardware I need to coat, here the the final parts have been blasted. My objective was to NOT use one spec of spray bomb on the bike, I am pleased to announce I have succeeded.

153 More baking

Last bit of baking, this round ran me out of hanging wire.

153 Lic bracket

As much as no one wants to run a license plate it is required. I set up some 6061 aluminum on the mill and machined out a nice simple holder. Once complete it was powder coated matte black to blend it in.

153 Seat fitment

The lines of the bike are very crucial therefore fit and finish are a priority. I spent awhile building adjustments into the seat in order to allow it to sit perfectly with the rear frame hoop.

153 Hiding wires

One of the main build objectives was to hide all the wiring. In the case of the handle bars the wiring all got run inside. Holes were drilled and grommets installed to keep things clean.

153 Rat's nest

The factory wire harness was of no use to me. Almost every electrical component on the bike had been upgraded or moved. The entire wiring harness was built from scratch. I initially drew out a rough plan on paper but in the end I ended up building it as I went along. Many of the connectors were upgraded to weather pack connectors. All splices were soldered and wrapped with heat shrink.

153 Cleaned up

I am a big believer that even components that are not seen need to be clean and have the same attention to detail. The custom wiring harness cleaned up well in the end and everything tucked in beautifully.

153 Packed in

Here you can see everything I packed into under the fuel tank. Horn, coil, and a couple of relays.

153 New chain

I don’t know why I am posting this picture. Look everyone! I put a new chain on! Whooooopppppppeeee!

153 Bike tuning

With most of the bike complete I spent some time tuning the carbs and checking the timing. I set it up near the garage door and ran an exhaust hose out so I wouldn’t choke out on the fumes.

153 Carb sync

Was able to sync the carbs beautifully.

153 Base timing

Base ignition timing came in at 12 degrees, good enough for me.

153 Full advance

Full advance? 42 degrees! Nothing like getting a jump on that power stroke.

Below is video proof the the bike is alive. It starts great and runs. The custom exhaust and muffler sound good.

153 Cover swap

With tuning done and ignition timing confirmed I was able to swap out my timing cover for the NOS Honda stator cover.

153 Completed bike 23

From here on in it is basically a picture show. The bike is complete. There are a few details that need to be addressed but I need to wait until I can ride it before I can evaluate what needs to be done.

153 Completed bike 22

153 Completed bike 21

153 Completed bike 20

153 Completed bike 19

153 Completed bike 18

I opted to mount a super clean button in my steering stem that allows me to cycle through my instrument cluster menus.

153 Completed bike 17

153 Completed bike 16

153 Completed bike 15

153 Completed bike 14

Instead of using the factory starter button I chose to mount one next to the ignition switch. I turned the factory starter button, on the throttle housing, into my horn button. I like to think of it as my security system. If someone tries to start the bike they will end up sounding the horn instead of cranking the engine. Ha!

153 Completed bike 13

153 Completed bike 12

153 Completed bike 11

153 Completed bike 10

I spent forever obsessing about the rear brake switch. I wanted something clean. I finally came up with the idea of using the rear brake lever stop as the switch. I Machined some plastic bushings in order to insulate the stop. Then using a single ground wire and a 5 pin relay I was able to turn the stop into a switch. Worked great and is almost undetectable.

153 Completed bike 09

153 Completed bike 08

153 Completed bike 07

153 Completed bike 06

153 Completed bike 05

153 Completed bike 04

153 Completed bike 03

153 Completed bike 02

153 Completed bike 01

So the main work is complete and I need to turn my attention to getting this thing insured and registered. It is not that straight forward and I need to jump through hoops almost every step of the way. I have budgeted a month to deal with the paperwork and hope that things will work in my favor.

CB160 right side

Comments
  1. Jason Garber says:

    Gord, your work is stunning and this has been a true joy to follow. Like a good novel — unfolding one chapter at a time.

  2. TheStu says:

    What a transformation, Gord!! And it sounds even better in person😉 Great work as always, some really impressive and innovative fabricating there!

  3. Luis Rodrigues says:

    That is one sexy bike.
    My friend, you are a true artist and it was a real privilege to see your beautiful work.
    Thank you for sharing.
    How about a little video of a little around the block trip?

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks Luis, the bike worked out well and I am happy with the lines. I have learned a lot which was one of the goals.
      I would love to shoot, and post, some video footage of the CB in action. If you have any tips on how I can get rid of the snow any more quickly that would greatly help. I suspect the GoPro session will have to wait for a little longer.

      Thanks!
      Gord

  4. Dodge says:

    That is a hugely impressive renovation, a real credit to you. Thanks for all the updates, it was very informative.

    Enjoy the fruits of your labor now!

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks Dodge, I had feared that I may get tired of the 1.5 year build and drift onto another project however that did not happen. I enjoyed all the hours I invested and beat my deadline (of which I never set) by a couple of months.

      Thanks!
      Gord

  5. Ron Kluwe says:

    Gord;

    Like all your other work, this is most impressive. What a fantastic small displacement cafe racer!!!

    Your attention to detail and innovation is very professional and your bike is as good as any I have seen built by professionals.

    Good luck with the paperwork and may your enjoyment riding be equal to the time and effort you put into making this bike.

    Regards;

    Ron Kluwe

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks for the kind words Ron. I realize that for a bike to be called a cafe racer it needs to do the ton (100 mph) however in my case the small displacement will not achieve those speeds. For me it’s not about the HP and torque but more about the experience. I really like the small displacement.

      My goal was to prove to myself that a pro looking bike could be built in a home garage by 1 guy. Although many may criticize certain aspects of the bike I still take pleasure in my own accomplishment.

      Thanks for the support!
      Gord

  6. Dutch Peter says:

    Gord,
    Great work !
    Look out for the next !!!!!!

  7. Cody says:

    Thanks for letting us enjoy your work. I’ve been rebuilding a CA160 (street version with very similar motor) and your pics have saved my bacon more than once.

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks for following Cody. Throughout the build one of the side effects I benefited from was people like you. I have had the opportunity to connect with others that have the same bike and similar interests.

      Thanks!
      Gord

  8. Steve says:

    good job

  9. Hi Gord. Assuming the carbs are stock, where did you access the vacuum ports to do the sync? I use a garden hose and a good ear to sync mine. Wait… what if I remove the air screw and capture the draw that way…. and since I am syncing via the cable nut in the top of the cap, that might work… “Sophia” is getting her legs back after her new “skirt”….

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hi Andrew, good question. I thought ahead when the engine was in the rebuild stage and drilled out both the manifolds to allow installation of temporary barb fittings. You can view the modification here.

      Glad to hear the Monza is progressing. Pics?

      Thanks!
      Gord

  10. motopsyco says:

    Absolutely fantastic little bike!

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks motopsyco, I appreciate the time you take to look and comment. I am happy with the result of the build but also find myself disappointed that it has come to an end. I admit that for the past couple of weeks I am guilty of checking over the classifieds on a daily basis hoping the perfect next bike project will fall into my lap. I should really be concentrating on unfinished projects.

      Thanks!
      Gord

  11. Al says:

    Hello Gord,

    How was the install of the Motogadget? I may have missed it somewhere in your comprehensive documentation… Did you machine the mounting bracket yourself? Were the indicators (neutral, oil pressure warning, etc) and support electrical easy to rig up? I’ve been on the fence about investing in one of these for my CB750. Seems I’m following the same path with respect to instrumentation and cleaning up the front end vs price!

    Thanks!
    Al

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hi Al, I did fab my own mounting bracket for the gauge. You can see the post here. The wiring for the gauge is very simple. There are a total of 2 main connectors. The first one handles all the crucial stuff like power, ground, speed, etc…and the other is for all the sensor hookups. I am not running any of the optional sensors ie; oil pressure, air temp., oil temp, etc…as I did not want to clutter the bike up with sensors or wiring. If you understand basic automotive electrical the wiring is not a difficult task. The manual provides the info you need.

      The cost of the gauge is hard to swallow however in the end I have zero regrets and would do it again. I could write lots about all the fantastic features however…I have garage work to get to.

      Thanks!
      Gord

Leave a Reply

