154 Title photo shoot

So I am not trying to blog this CB160 thing to death however there was one final step to complete before I could lay this project to rest. I figured the 65revive rebuild deserved some decent photography so in keeping with the theme of “garage built” it was only fitting to set up a photo studio in the workshop.

I decided to call upon my brother, Brian, who does photography as a hobby. He does fantastic work and enjoys unique challenges just as I do. One Thursday night we hauled all his studio lighting and backdrops over to my place and set things up. The next evening we spent about 4 hours shooting the bike.

154 Photo Shoot 2

The pictures turned out fantastic thanks to my brother’s ability to not only shoot great pictures but also his extensive experience with digital darkrooms. No touch ups were made to the bike itself only to some flaws in the backdrop along with a few other blemishes (not to mention cropping of the kickstand) It is fun to see how “pro you can go” in your own little amateur space and in my case I am content with the level of quality in both the bike build and photo shoot. Thanks Brian!

154 Photo Shoot 1

The pictures posted below are part of a gallery so if you click on one picture you will be able to scroll through a larger format. Enjoy!

Comments
  1. TheStu says:

    WOW. Looks incredible in person, and the pics totally capture what a great build it is. Amazing shots, amazing project and I for one enjoyed all the blog posts. Your brother does a great job rockin a camera, that’s for sure. Great job.

  2. Daryl Garner-Savory says:

    Dude, I have 1 word for you, “PASSION, it’s not arrogance, it’s just that you are that good.

    Great stuff

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks Daryl for the kind words. I do love garage work, it serves as my personal therapy sessions. I appreciate guys like you that follow along and take the time to comment.

      Thanks!
      Gord

  3. Hi Gord. Will you be sending them to Bike EXIF? http://www.bikeexif.com

    Andrew

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hey Andrew, I wasn’t sure if I should submit the bike. Bike EXIF would be a good place to send it to. I always think those sites are looking for something other them what I have. Perhaps it wouldn’t hurt to send it their way. Good suggestion, thanks!

      Gord

  4. rjbuxton says:

    Stunning!! Please accept it as a compliment to your mechanical artistry when I say that you have crafted an image that might almost be spoiled by being taken out onto the road.

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks rjbuxton, one of the reasons I chose to rebuild a bike was that the project is small enough that proper attention could be given to all the details. I really did enjoy the process and the whole point of the build was not to get to the end but spend time during the process. However it will not remain a show piece. I am waiting for the snow to melt and look forward to some warm day work commuting with it. Weather forecast states the melt off is coming starting tomorrow.

      Thanks!
      Gord

  5. Fab Tessaro says:

    Gord, Excellent work as usual. I’m not sure what I like more, the bike or the photos and studio! I am envious of your garage space. =^)

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks Fred, good to hear from you. The garage space certainly provides me with the room to do the things I love. My brother did a great job of the photos and editing. I hear that you are trying your hand at some automotive photography. True?

      Thanks!
      Gord

  6. Larry Webster says:

    Sad this is finished. It has been a joy to watch you work and see the results. I hope you start a new motorcycle build soon.

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks Larry, I share in your sadness with the fact that the build has come to an end. I already seem to have collected numerous new, but smaller, projects. Stay tuned as I plan to share. As far as another build goes my wife actually displayed some interest in having me build a bike for her, not sure if it will happen however I am keeping my eyes open for a good project bike for her.

      Thanks!
      Gord

  7. Excellent photography, the details are really clear. Better photography is one thing on my workshop todo list.

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks Andy, unfortunately photography counts for a lot when sharing over the internet. Projects are cool when seen in person however poor photography can kill a project when it needs to be shared digitally. I say unfortunate because it takes time to set up the shots and then process them. In the end good photography counts for a lot. I do not know much but I have been able to figure out what works and what doesn’t for me.

      Thanks!
      Gord

  8. howder1951 says:

    What a great project, absolutely one of the best documentations I have seen regarding gear head projects.
    Leonardo must be smiling down on you.

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks howder1951, the documentation is very time consuming but it’s worth it if people read it, enjoy it, and get something out of it.

      Thanks for taking the time.
      Gord

  9. Eric says:

    Very inspiring. I would like to know more about the rear brake switch set up, since I am trying to figure it out myself on my rearsets. I’m working on a Honda S90.

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks Eric. I wanted a very minimal rear brake switch so I cam up with the following. You can view it here. I used the rear brake lever as the ground for the brake light circuit. I machined the lever return stop out of aluminum and then insulated it from the frame using plastic bushings which I also machined. There is a single wiring attached to the aluminum stop bushing which is wired into a relay. When the brake lever is actuated the ground circuit is broken which, in turn, activates a relay to trigger my brake light.

      Hope this helps.

      Thanks!
      Gord

      • Eric says:

        No, I don’t follow to be honest. Are there any more pics? Like I’m trying to think in my mind, where do I find space on my rearset to put that. What did you do with the rear brake switch that came with the bike? Where am I gonna put a relay for the ground wire, strapped to the swingarm? Sorry electrically challenged here, but willing to learn. I’m thinking of just extending a linkage arm from the rearset to the pivot point of the original brake arm, and then hook up to the rear brake switch.

      • gordsgarage says:

        Hi Eric, in order for me to be of any help I think I need some more information from you.

        Typically when rear sets are retro fitted onto bikes there is a certain amount of modifying that is required. Very rarely do these modification ever come packaged nice and neat from the manufacturer. It is up to the end user to troubleshoot the issues and come up with the solution. The solution will be different, for different people, depending on the materials you have available to you, the fabrication equipment you have access to, and most importantly the skill sets you possess for fabrication.

        It would be helpful to know were you are at with fabricating solutions. Where did you get the rear sets from? Do you have a link? Is your S90 stock?

        I could post many more pictures of my switch set up but it is unlikely going to help your situation. I think that a better solution would be if you could post pictures of your dilemma and that may help me, along with other blog followers, offer suggestions.

        As far as the shift arm goes…it allows you to choose between conventional shifting (shifting up through the gears) or GP shifting (shifting down through the gears) If you Google search GP shifting there is lots of information readily available that discusses the pros and cons of each.

        Thanks!
        Gord

      • Eric says:

        Do I have to make an account here or how do I post pics? Not many pics at this time however, since it is with a fabrication shop but I want my bike to be as cool as yours for sure and I’m a fan of a clean look.

      • Eric says:

        Also, does it make a difference if your shift arm on the shift shaft is facing up or down — with regards to shifting gears. I see most of the time they are facing up, but I may put mine facing down.

  10. Eric says:

    So I have no clue how to post pics here, but made an account and posted pics there. Unfortunately don’t have any pics of the brake switch side, but using stock rear brake switch.

Leave a Reply

