164-010

I’m a bit overdue for a blog update. January and February have been busy as I find myself in the middle of developing my basement. It’s taken this long to start construction as I had submitted, over the years, multiple requests to the boss of the house to develop part of the bottom floor into a machine shop. Even though I had followed proper request procedures my application had continued to be denied. It was only until now that I chose to accept my failed dream and therefore blue printed the space out to be a bedroom instead. I am trying to find the silver lining surrounding my defeat, I need more time.

As far as the CNC plasma table build goes it is still active but did slow down a bit. Good news is I still have the enthusiasm to see the project to completion. I have all the material sitting on the workbench for the next stage. I hope to be back on it in a month or so.

Around the holiday break in December I had a few hours of spare time so I cleaned up the shop area. Once everything was put away and swept up I looked around to see if I could scratch a creative itch I had. I found a used, but still decent, clutch disc out of a Porsche laying in a pile of junk. I set it on the bench and stared at it for a while. I wanted to build something, didn’t want it to take too long, and wanted a decent satisfaction level to result from my efforts. A Porsche technician had given me the disc and so I thought I would give it back to him but in a different state. Decided I would fab an old school shop clock, the following is what I came up with.

164-020

Started by ring rolling a section of .250″ cold rolled steel

164-030

I band sawed 12 little sections of .500″ cold rolled round bar then cleaned them up on the lathe. Each one received cross drilling on the mill.

164-040

Next they all went back onto the lathe where they where all threaded .250″ deep with a 6mm tap.

164-050

To ensure all my number markings would be spaced properly I created a paper template using a CAD program. The ring, with all the .500″ markings, got locked into place at the proper spacing.

164-060

Next the .500″ markings got TIG welded into place.

164-070

Here is the completed ring. I hid the closing gap of the ring inside one of the steel markers.

164-080

Onto the face of the clock. I trimmed out a 13″ disc from a chunk of 10 gauge steel. Machined a center bushing in order to allow for a clock motor to be mounted. Then I ring rolled some 1″ flat bar in order to give the perimeter a more finished look.

164-090

Clock motor bushing was TIG welded into place.

164-100

I wanted to ensure the clock would hang flush against a vertical surface. A section of flat bar was welded into place to allowing for mounting to a wall.

164-110

Here is the finished fabrication work. Next step will be the finishing and artwork.

164-120

Old school Porsche meant going with a red a white theme. The clock components received powder coating.

164-130

Here the clock face receives a 20minute bake session.

164-140

The artwork was going to be applied in the form of a vinyl decal. I downloaded the proper Porsche font and designed the look of the clock face using Inkscape .

164-150

I cut the 1 piece decal out using my vinyl plotter.

164-160

With the decal applied all that was left was component assembly.

164-170

164-180

Comments
  1. Roscoe says:

    Funny, I was just wondering about your progress on the CNC. Nice project here, your pal is very lucky to have you for a friend. I assume that the paint is a true Porsche Guards Red? (-:

    r.e. your basement bedroom, obviously I have no idea of the floor plan, but be sure to account for egress out of the bedroom itself (with bedroom door closed) for safety. Even if you’re not drawing a permit, there’s a moral imperative to allow any occupants to escape a fire, either through a door to the outside, or through a window that opens wide enough to climb through and is close enough to the floor that it doesn’t require a ladder. Anyway, have fun and make the boss happy. And thanks for the update!

    • gordsgarage says:

      Hi Roscoe, thanks for the comments. No the red is not true Guards Red but it is very close, I compared it to a set of factory brake calipers.

      Thanks for the reno advice, I am stickler for the rules and attempt to do everything to code. I actually have an oversized window that complies to the city code.

      Thanks!
      Gord

Leave a Reply

