169-005

 

Cycling season is upon us which also means the agony of getting into riding shape has begun. When I ride my road bike I typically ride by myself. I like zoning out and riding at my own pace. What I also like are all the training numbers that can be had, and analyzed, based on my own riding performance. I monitor heart rate and cadence as the primary indicators that help me determine my progress and abilities.

This year I began using the Strava app on my phone which allows me to track more of my riding data. I won’t go into detail about the app since the website would do a better job of explaining it however I will say that it is packed full of data that helps determine the pace I am riding at and how I improve.

Since I want to have my phone visible when I ride I wanted to have it mount in a location on my handlebar stem. There are companies that offer phone mounts for bicycles however the ones that I looked at all had some minor issues that I did not like. I figured I had a Saturday afternoon to kill so I thought I would see what the milling machine could produce for a mount.

I spent a few sleepless hours, the night before, lying awake in bed mentally engineering the mount. Once I had the neuron blueprint made I caught a few hours of sleep then headed into the shop and starting chipping out some 6061 aluminium.

The criteria were fairly basic. The mount needed to be solid; I didn’t want Velcro or rubber bands holding it on. Second concern was that the phone had to mount to it quickly. Third thing was that I wanted the mount to accommodate my Otter Box case. With these 3 personal requests I came up with a plan. The rest is of the story is told below.

167-100

I started off with a section of 1.500″ x .500″ flat 6061 aluminum and began hogging out metal to form a clamp for the phone.

167-200

With the middle sectioned out I started to open things up from the outside.

167-300

A little more milling and I finally had something that resembled the clamp that I dreamt up the night before.

167-400

I required a 6 mm thread in the center hole that would eventually provide the clamping force adjustment.

167-500

I am not a weight junkie however there is no need in carrying around anything that is not required. I milled off some extra aluminum that was not necessary.

167-600

With the clamp roughed out it was time to start on the base. The first order of business included milling out a section to accept the previously build clamp.

167-700

Next step involved hogging out all the unwanted aluminum. My projects sometimes get “chunky” and I did’t want that to happen on this one.

167-800

I needed 2 flanges that would allow me to bolt the holder to the bike and the other to help keep my phone centered. Out came the boring head and things were trimmed up.

167-900

Here it is just rough machined. Not finished yet.

167-1000

I test fit the mount on the bike and determined things were, in fact, too “chunky”. I decided that the smaller flange I previously cut in order to keep my phone centered really was not required. Therefore it was time to undo my work. I set the base up on the rotary table and cut off the top section on the mount which included my previously machined smaller flange.

167-1100

It is definitely looking better, and lighter, having been cut down.

167-1200

As I continue to lighten things up I cut some speed holes. The one exception was the bottom 6 o’clock hole. It was drilled and tapped, you will see why later.

167-1300

Here are all the components that make up my holder. You can see a knob, which I didn’t show any pictures of machining it, which will be used in conjunction with my clamp.

167-1400

Onto the finishing portion of the project. The mount will get anodized in order to protect if from the elements. Of course I say elements because it needs to sound like I need a reason. Truth is that it just looks really cool when anodized. All the edges and surfaces got touched up and then were hit with 2 stage buffing. Then thoroughly cleaned and ready for anodizing.

167-1500

Here they sit in a sulfuric acid bath and soak for a couple hours while getting bombarded with electrons.

167-1600

Onto the coolest part of anodizing. 5 minutes in the Red Bordeaux dye resulted in a fantastic shade of red.

167-1700

This is the clamp fresh out of the dye.

167-1800

Because there is always 1 person that says “How much does that weigh?” the answer is 109 grams. Yes it is weight, get over it!

167-1900

Here you can finally see how the mechanics of the clamp works. The knob allows me to tension up the clamp against the soft, flexible, section of the Otter Box phone case.

167-2000

The base mounts in place of the steering head center cap. It is solid and secure.

167-2100

The single tapped hole in the array of speed holes was done in order to allow me to store the clamp when the phone is not installed. I simply spin the clamp onto the base and that way it won’t get misplaced.

167-2200

Here you can see how the entire system was designed, and built, to work. The phone is mounted very securely and has no movement.

167-2300

All that is visible from the top side are the fingers that wrap around the sides and clamp. I am happy to say that I have cycled multiple times using the mount and there are no issues.

 

Comments
  1. Rob Woodford says:

    Beautiful, simply beautiful! Oh the sleepless nights spent designing.

  2. Jason Garber says:

    Awesome project and craftsmanship Gord.

  3. […] the app, you’ll need it securely affixed to your bike. That’s where [Gord]’s No Dropped Calls build comes in. This aluminium mount was hand milled and anodized, which gives it a professional […]

  4. Sifo says:

    How much did it weight before anodization?😀

Leave a Reply

