176-000

Today’s posting comes as part 2, of 2, which outlines the restoration of a 1907 Champion Blower and Forge Co post drill press for my cities local living history museum. If you happen to miss part one there is no need to get all worked up. You can view it here.

Previously all the repair work and fabrication had been completed. It was time to move onto the finishing stage. There is not a whole lot that is worth putting into words as I have jam packed this blog posting with a lot of pictures.

In an effort to avoid redundancy I will simple start this posting with some closing remarks. The end product worked out as planned and I am happy with it. For me the absolute best part of the restoration is how well the post drill operates. If there was some way I could get all those interested to turn the handle and experience the ease, and smoothness, of the drill that would tickle me more than anything I’ve seen. Unfortunately you are going to have to take my word for it. I think as far as looks go it appears to have come from the era. Although I made some “non-period correct” changes the bulk of the drill remained original.

I have since returned the post back to its original home that I received it from. The plan is that its use will get demonstrated to the people visiting the facility. Since the drill is now kept in an indoor shop it should stay in good operating condition for many years. It was an enjoyable project of mine and I was happy to have it all work out in the end. Time to move onto something else. Below are all the pictures that follow the completion of the post drill. And BTW…virtual high five to those who decipher the title to this post.

176-010

I entered into deliberation regarding the highlighting of the raised lettering. Before I went into finishing stage I thought I would sample the highlight. I used a dark copper model paint and a artists paint brush to raise out the lettering. Still completely unsure if this would be too much. Hmmmm…….

176-020

All the components receiving a black top coat were wiped down with acetone and then oil & grease remover. I opted to not set up my paint booth as I was not overly concerned with some dust getting into the finish. All the components then received a coat of Nason primer.

176-030

I originally wanted to powder coat everything but it became clear, awhile back, that it would look too “plastic” so I went for conventional paint. I dug out my HVLP spray gun and figured I would Hot Rod black the components. This is the same paint I used on my 1965 Honda CB160 Cafe Racer. It has a decent flat finish to it.

176-040

Paint is mixed, filtered, and ready to spray!

176-050

Painting results were great, no runs and no missed spots. My intention was to paint the gear teeth and allow them to wear naturally.

176-054

I was struggling a bit with the hardware. The drill press came with mismatched square head set screws. I couldn’t cope with that. I found myself on the West Coast of Vancouver for a couple of days and decided to stop in at my favorite hardware store located in Steveston. This place is fantastic! I could spend hours just wandering the isles.

176-055

And wander the isles I did! I was able to find the retro square headed set screws that I needed. Score!

176-060

All the hardware received and initial cleaning.

176-070

Next step everything took its turn in the crushed glass media cabinet and received an exfoliation.

176-080

Then onto the black oxide solution where everything got blackened to the same degree.

176-085

Once blackened all the hardware received a coat of sealer in order to protect it from rusting.

176-090

Hung to dry. I feel better having the finish of all the hardware matching.

176-100

The 2 oak handles that I made received a couple coats of stain and then 2 coats of a clear polyurethane finish to aid in the protection.

176-110

The next sequence of pictures revolve around saving the drill table from any more damage. At some point in the drills earlier life the drill table was drilled into. In my previous post I showed I repaired the previous holes. I didn’t want the repaired table to get drilled into again so I decided to make a “sacrificial” table hoping it would take the abuse and not the original table. It started off with plasma cutting a 7 inch diameter circle out of some 10 gauge steel.

176-120

Onto the milling machine where the center was drilled out as well as 3 more holes spaced 120 degrees apart.

176-130

Quickly machined up a center arbor for the 7″ disc.

176-140

TIG welded the center arbor to the disc which will allow me to mount the disc into my lather chuck.

176-160

With the plasma cut circle mounted in the lathe I was able to trim it down to a precise diameter.

176-150

Time to move onto the actual sacrificial plate. I got my hands on a chunk of 8″ wide by 1″ thick solid red oak. I jig sawed out a rough 7 inch circle.

176-170

Next is was mounted onto my previously machined 10 gauge steel disc using wood screws.

176-180

And onto the lathe it went.

176-190

It was trimmed down, and sanded, to final dimensions.

176-200

Three 1/4 x 20 steel inserts where installed.

176-210

2 coats of stain and 2 coats of a clear polyurethane finish were applied to give it some protection.

176-220

I machined up 3 brass pegs to allow for mounting the oak base to the powder coated steel base. This way the sacrificial base can be dropped onto the original drill press base quickly. I also designed it that if the 1″ oak gets drilled all the way through the bit will eventually hit the steel backing. If the operator chooses to continue drilling through the steel base into the drill table then I suggest he/she steps away from the machine and never gets within 10 feet of it again.

176-230

Here I am back onto my highlight dilemma. I applied some more of the dark copper model paint to the back side of a flat black mount. I think at this point I am going to decline from highlighting the raised lettering. As cool as I think it would look I need to ensure that post drill looks period correct. Back in the day the manufacturer would not take the time to apply the highlights.

176-240

This is most of the hardware that has been cleaned up, refinished, or replaced.

176-250

What holds the drill arbor to the down feed acme rod is a couple of 3/16″ pins. Originally there was a “one time use” crush sleeve that went over the pins in order to prevent them from coming out. I opted to machine a bronze sleeve with a set screw to allow for servicing. As stated in my previous post I am aware that this repair is not period correct.

 

A friend of mine stopped by the garage for a visit so we figured we would have some fun with the assembly of the post drill. If you would like to see all components involved as well as the construction take a peek at the following 58 second video.

 

 

176-255

Thought I would include a photo of the wood shop that the post drill will live in. This place is super cool! It is run by volunteers and what they turn out of the shop is magical. Right now they are building a carousel for the local zoo. The ride is going to feature all hand carved animals done by the volunteers. I have no idea how they pull this stuff off. It is a pleasure to see the passion these people have for working with their hands.

 

The remaining 14 pictures and 1 video are not being accompanied with any captions. They are simple showing the different angles, components, and details of the post drill. As much as I do not want to overdo the pictures I like to provide as much visual detail as possible in hopes that anyone else that is looking for information regarding these presses will be able to find some answers here.

 

176-260

176-270

176-280

176-290

176-300

176-310

176-320

176-330

176-340

176-350

176-355

176-360

176-370


176-380

Comments
  1. EDGAR RUMBO says:

    MUCHAS FELICIDADES NUEVAMENTE ES GENIAL TU TRABAJO ¡¡¡¡¡¡

  2. The Stu says:

    Damn, Gord, that looks fantastic. I think if it were my personal drill press I would do the highlights, but not doing them was the right choice for a functioning, mostly period correct museum piece. The black paint looks great. The wood stain reminds me of my dad’s walking sticks that he used to make.

    Great job, as always!

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks Stu, I’m happy to hear that someone else is on board with my decision not to high-lite the lettering. I agree with you that if the drill was mine for the shop I would probably have done it too. The volunteers were happy with the result and I think they are excited about getting it mounted in a permanent location so that they can use it. It’ll be a nice edition to their wood carving shop.

      As always, thanks for taking the the time to visit!

      Gord

  3. Craig says:

    Your stuff is always great to read. You did a wonderful job on this one, it looks fantastic!

    • gordsgarage says:

      Thanks Craig, normally I don’t have the opportunity to perform restorations so when something like this comes along I am usually eager to give it a go. I was pleased with how it turned out too.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment!

      Gord

Leave a Reply

