173-010

One day I had an idea, went into the garage and built it. The End.

Not sure what more I can say about this post. I thought it would be cool to make more of an unconventional themed oil filled candle. I figured a spark plug lends itself well to a flame theme so I went for it. A day in the shop landed me a double scaled spark plug candle.

The entire plug was made from a single piece of 6061 aluminium and done to scale. The specs are as follows. Overall height 7.750”, spark plug maximum diameter 1.460”, oil chamber volume .68 cubic inches, 100% cotton wick, 99% pure paraffin(e) lamp oil, burn time approximately 2 hours.

So here we go…

173-015

Project planning began by recreating a spark plug scaled 2:1 in a CAD program. This is what I referenced to for all the machining dimensions.

 

173-020

The actual hands on portion of the project started off with a 6.5 inch section of 1.500″ 6061 aluminum.

173-030

Using various cutters I was able to build the first have to my CAD specs. It is starting to look fairly authentic.

173-040

Onto the milling machine where the wrench hex was milled into the plug.

173-050

The first half worked out as planned, here’s hoping I don’t screw up the second half.

173-060

The threaded section was spun down to spec before the threading began.

173-070

A 2:1 scale of the threads turned out to be approximately 10 tpi. I re-geared the lathe for the proper pitch and set up the threading tooling before cutting.

173-080

Time to drill out the oil chamber using a 9/16 inch drill bit to a depth of 2.800 inches.

173-090

With the chamber drilled I machined in a shoulder to allow for the wick holder to rest on.

173-100

The completed spark plug worked out great. Next step was to machine a mounting base, a wick holder and a ground electrode.

173-110

With the wick holder complete I gave the spark plug a test drive. Turns out it actually works!

173-120

To make the plug look more authentic a ground electrode was required. I came up with a few ideas before settling on using a .250″ stainless steel round bar. I trimmed .400″ of the round stock down to .120″.

173-130

Next step was to get some heat into the round bar in order to give it a 90 degree bend in the vise.

173-140

With the bend complete all that was required was trimming up of the electrode length to spec.

173-150

In order to fit the ground electrode into the plug a .125″ hole was drilled to allow the stainless pin to rest into.

173-160

Here are all the fabricated components including the base. I opted to keep the base super simple in order to not distract from the spark plug.

173-170

And so this brings us to the part of the show which displays some of the completed shots.

173-180

Very happy with how the hex turned out, as well as the rest of the machining.

173-190

A few notes on the electrode. The spark plug gap is NOT to spec. It would not work out without smothering the flame therefore I opted for a visual pleasing gap which is a bit larger. Second thing to note is that different wicks and different oils burn differently. Some give off more carbon the others. In my case the flame has no visible black carbon however the bit that is present gets deposited on the stainless electrode. I like to think of it as a clean burning eco friendly oil candle. Third thing I decided on was to leave the finish of the electrode rough. I had contemplated polishing it but I thought the rough look gave the candle a bit more character.

173-200

Comments
  1. Donovan says:

    this is such a great idea , well done really awesome.

  2. […] projects, and he’s back in the machine shop again. This time it’s with a rather unique oil candle that uses a spark plug as inspiration. We have to say, the results are on […]

  3. matt says:

    love it, nice work. stealing this one for a holiday gift.

Leave a comment